Canada election: Liberals hoping to keep red wave going in Nova Scotia

- Advertisement -

The Federal Liberals are hoping to once again dominate the province of Nova Scotia, but some of their seats are in danger of being flipped during the 2021 Canadian election.

- Advertisement -

Voting in Nova Scotia will take place near 8:30 p.m. Atlantic time and this story will be updated when the results come in.

The province, which has 11 federal ridings, has been largely liberal since the 2015 red wave in Atlantic Canada. Upon dissolution, 10 seats were held by the Liberals and one seat – West Nova – was held by the Conservatives.


While the Liberals are hoping to maintain their momentum, there could be a bounce in some seats.

In Halifax West, for example, there is no incumbent because long-running Liberal MP Geoff Regan announced earlier this year that he would quit politics. Given Regan’s legacy, the new candidate, former Liberal legislator Lena Metalge Diab, will have big shoes on.

Story continues below ad
- Advertisement -

She is running against the Conservatives Eleanor Humphries, Jonathan Roberts of the NDP, Richard Zurawski of the Green Party, Julie Scott of the People’s Party and Kevin Schultheis of the Christian Heritage Party.

The NDP, which had a stronghold in the riding of Halifax before the Red Wave, is trying to reclaim her seat with former legislator Lisa Roberts. She is going up against Liberal incumbent Andy Fillmore, who won in 2015 and 2019.

Also in Halifax, Conservative Cameron Ailes, Green Party’s Jo-Ann Roberts, People’s Party’s B. Alexander Hebert and Katie Campbell of the Communist Party are also running.

Cape Breton-Canso was a close in 2019, with Liberal Mike Kelowe barely thrashing his Conservative rival. While he is up against a different Conservative – Fiona McLeod – this time around, only time will tell whether he will be able to hold on to his seat.

Jana Redick and Brad Grandy of the NDP are also running along with the People’s Party in this district.

And Sydney-Victoria was even closer in 2019, with Jaime Batiste winning against Conservative Eddie Orrell. Both politicians are running again in this ride, as are Jeff Ward of the NDP, Mark Ambrett of the Green, Ronald Barron of the People’s Party and Nikki Boiswart with the Marxist-Leninist Party.


- Advertisement -
Mail Us For  DMCA / Credit  Notice

Recent Articles

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

Related Stories