Coldplay score ninth consecutive UK Number One album with ‘Music Of The Spheres’

- Advertisement -

In addition to being the fastest selling album of 2021, the band is also the first since Ed Sheeran in 2019 to cross 100,000 chart sales in a week.

- Advertisement -

Coldplay have scored their ninth consecutive UK number one album with new LP ‘Music of the Spheres’.

  • Read more: Coldplay: “It’s our era without fear”
- Advertisement -

The band’s new record, which came out last week (October 15), debuted at the top spot, moving 101,000 chart sales – the fastest of the year, beating Dave’s “We’re All Alone in This Together”. became a best-selling album, earning 74,000 charts. Sale in its opening week in July.

The album is the first release since Ed Sheeran’s ‘Numbers’ to cross 100,000 chart sales in a week. 6 Collaboration’s project sold 125,000 in July 2019.


Coldplay’s one-week figure of 85 percent was net sales (physical and download), including 12,400 on vinyl, meaning it also claimed the number one spot on the vinyl album chart.

Chris Martin & Co.’s unbroken run of nine number one studio albums on the UK chart saw them tie Brandon Flowers, who has a clean streak of nine consecutive chart-toppers in The Killers and his single releases. Noel Gallagher is the only act to have collected more, with all 10 of his albums consistently topping the list.

Coldplay has also joined ABBA and Bob Dylan to produce nine number one albums on the UK Albums Chart.

Distasteful game. credit: James Marcus Honey

‘Music of the Spheres’ – which follows 2019’s ‘Everyday Life’ – from The Beatles’ classic final album ‘Let It Be’ (number two) along with a super deluxe edition of four new ones to hit the top five was one of the releases. , Danielle O’Donnell’s ’60’ (number four), and Joy Crooks’ ‘Skin’ (number five).

The second album inside the top five is Adele’s ’25’. Following the success of her latest single ‘Easy on Me’, her 2015 record increased from six to three, which has taken the number one spot on the UK Singles Chart this week.


In a four-star review for ‘Music of the Spheres’, GranthshalaRyan Daly said: “Like a sparkling night sky sewn with stars, ‘Music of the Spheres’ is a celestial beauty capable of inspiring great awe and emotion.”

Apple and Moses Martin, two children of Coldplay frontman Chris Martin, are credited for the band’s new album.

Seventeen-year-old Apple is credited as a co-songwriter on the song ‘Let Somebody Go’, which features guest vocals from Selena Gomez. Fifteen-year-old Moses, meanwhile, has an artist credit. He can be heard singing along to his father on the chorus of ‘Mankind’, Board come to know.

Meanwhile, Martin has stated that Coldplay has made several unsuccessful attempts to write James Bond themes, but were not satisfied with any of them.

talking to Granthshala As for last week’s Big Read, Martin said: “We’ve had Bond themes for about five movies, but to be honest they’re not very good.”

- Advertisement -
Mail Us For  DMCA / Credit  Notice

Recent Articles

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

Related Stories