Death Cab For Cutie announce 20th anniversary reissue of ‘The Photo Album’

- Advertisement -

You Can Now Hear the Previously Unreleased “Band Demo” Version of ‘Coney Island’

- Advertisement -

Death Cab for Cutie has announced the 20th anniversary special of their 2001 album The Photo Album, which includes several previously unreleased tracks.

  • Read more: 22 Minutes with Death Cab for Cutie – Watch the full interview
- Advertisement -

The newly remastered 35-track reissue is set to arrive on 29 October, and features studio outtakes, previously unreleased tracks, rarities, and UK-exclusive B-sides, as well as covers of Björk’s “All Is Full of Love”. Will be included. Stone Roses “I Want To Be Added”.

A limited edition 2xLP, recently remastered for vinyl, is available for pre order now, and comes in spring 2022.


“I think ‘The Photo Album’ is excellent,” Death Cab For Cutie guitarist Chris Walla said in a statement. “The demos are particularly satisfying to me – they were recorded live in 8-tracks, over the course of a few days to just a week before we started the album proper, and they were notable for a beautiful, buzzing, trial run.” The sets are full of confidence. What will the album be?”

To accompany the announcement, the band shared an unreleased “Band Demo” version of Coney Island. You can listen to the track below.

Frontman Ben Gibbard said of the track in a statement, “It’s very indicative of the process we were employing at that point, which was to rebuild something and back it up completely.” “In that particular case, it made the song more interesting and gave it a nice flavor and a solitude that sits well on the album.”

You can check out the full tracklisting for the deluxe edition of ‘The Photo Album’ below:


‘The Photo Album’

1. ‘Stadier Footing’
2. ‘A Movie Script Ending’
3. ‘We laugh indoors’
4. ‘Information travels fast’
5. ‘Why would you want to be here’
6. ‘Blacking out the friction’
7. ‘I was a kaleidoscope’
8. ‘Styrofoam Plates’
9. ‘Coney Island’
10. ‘Debate exposed doubt’

Sustainability EP

11. ‘Towers of the 20th Century’
12. ‘All is full of love’
13. ‘Sustainability’

Rarities and unpublished recordings

14. ‘Gridlock Caravan’
15. “Information Travels Fast” (alternative song demo)
16. ‘I Want To Be Added’ (Live)
17. ‘I Was a Kaleidoscope’ (Live)
18. ‘We Laugh Indoors’ (dub)
19. ‘The debate exposes doubt’ (acoustic)
20. ‘A Movie Script Ending’ (Acoustic)
21. ‘I Was a Kaleidoscope’ (acoustic, live on KEXP)
22. ‘Corney Island’ (Studio Outtake)
23. ‘We Laugh Indoors’ (UK Single Mix)

band demo

24. ‘Stadier Footing’ (Acoustic Studio Outtake)
25. ‘A Movie Script Ending’ (Band Demo)
26. ‘We Laugh Indoors’ (Band Demo)
27. “Information Travels Fast” (band demo)
28. ‘Why You Want to Live Here’ (band demo)
29. ‘Blacking Out the Friction’ (Band Demo)
30. ‘I Was a Kaleidoscope’ (Band Demo)
31. ‘Styrofoam Plates’ (Band Demo)
32. ‘Coney Island’ (band demo)
33. ‘The Debate Uncovers Doubt’ (Band Demo)
34. ‘Towers of the 20th Century’ (band demo)
35. ‘Still Songs’ (Band Demo)

Death Cab for Sweet Travel Dates

10/20/21 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom (all ages)
10/21/21 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom (21+)
10/23/21 – Napa, CA @ Oxbow Riverstage *
* With the support of the Illuminati Hotties

In the meantime, Gibbard has played down the possibility of a Postal Service reunion to make any new musicals together.

- Advertisement -
Mail Us For  DMCA / Credit  Notice

Recent Articles

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

Related Stories