Edouard Mendy on shortlist for Yachine Trophy as part of Ballon d’Or ceremony

- Advertisement -

Chelsea star Edouard Mendy leads the shortlist for this year’s Yachin Trophy.

- Advertisement -

The coveted award for Goalkeeper of the Year will be presented later this year along with the main Ballon d’Or award.

UEFA Goalkeeper of the Year Edouard Mendy Yachin leads the charge for the trophycredit: Rex
Mendy's main threat comes from Euro 2020 winner and best player Gianluigi Donnarumma

Mendy’s main threat comes from Euro 2020 winner and best player Gianluigi Donnarummacredit: getty

Mendy, 29, has been a revelation at Stamford Bridge following his shock move from Rennes a year ago.


The Senegal international played a key role in the final victory of the Champions League.

And Mendy can now join UEFA in its European Goalkeeper of the Year award in August.

- Advertisement -

But the Chelsea stopper faces stiff competition from nine other elite players.

The most likely threat to Mendy will come from Gianluigi Donnarumma, who was behind Italy’s Euro 2020 win.

Indeed, the Italian was adjudged Player of the Tournament after his penalty shootout heroics against England.


And Donnarumma was just as impressive as he made his Champions League debut for new club Paris Saint-Germain in a 2-0 win over Manchester City last month.

Pep Guardiola’s Premier League champions are also represented through Brazil international Ederson.

Considered the best ‘sweeper-keeper’ out there, Ederson scored just 32 league goals last season.

And he has sent only three in the new campaign – joint-lowest with Chelsea’s Mendy.

Yachin Trophy 2021 Shortlist

Award to be given at Ballon d’Or 2021 ceremony

  • Edouard Mendy (Chelsea/Senegal)
  • Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG/Italy)
  • Ederson (Man City/Brazil)
  • Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester/Denmark)
  • Amy Martinez (Aston Villa/Argentina)
  • Keylor Navas (PSG / Costa Rica)
  • Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich / Germany)
  • Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid/Belgium)
  • Samir Handanovic (Inter Milan/Slovenia)
  • Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid/Slovenia)

Leicester’s Kasper Schmeichel and Aston Villa’s Amy Martinez are the two other English top-flight goalscorers on the shortlist.

Elsewhere, PSG’s second stopper Keeler Navas has been named alongside Bayern Munich’s Manuel Neuer as well as Real Madrid’s Thibaut Courtois.

And there is also nod for Inter Milan title winner Samir Handanovic and Atletico Madrid star Jan Oblak.

Free bets: Get over £2,000 in new customer deals

Ederson scored the fewest goals in the league as Man City won last season's title

Ederson scored the fewest goals in the league as Man City won last season’s titlecredit: getty

The Yachin Trophy is named in honor of the legendary Russian ace Lev Yashin, who won the Ballon d’Or in 1963 and is the only goalkeeper to receive the coveted award.

It was only created in 2019 and the current holder, as well as the inaugural winner, is Alison Baker of Liverpool.

But this time there was no nomination for Brazil.

I read our Football News Live Blog For the latest rumours, gossip and deals made

Ballon d’Or nominees including Messi, Ronaldo and de Bruyne show their skills in training

- Advertisement -
Mail Us For  DMCA / Credit  Notice

Recent Articles

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

Related Stories