England captain Heather Knight accuses India of needlessly LYING over controversial ‘Mankad’ ending to their Lord’s ODI which has split the cricketing world

Advertisement
- Advertisement -


  • England’s Heather Knight says India are ‘unnecessarily lying’ after their recent win
  • India won the One Day International series 3-0 against England on Saturday
  • The final game was won after the spectators dismissed Charlie Dean from the ‘Mankad’
  • Piers Morgan calls it a ‘pathetic’ way to win a match on Twitter
  • Indian bowler Deepti Sharma, who ran out Dean, insists she had warned
  • But home captain Knight insisted that Sharma’s claims of warning the dean were not true.

- Advertisement -

Heather Knight came under fire after a run-out ‘Mankad’ led England women’s return to Lord’s when she accused India of lying on Monday.

The injured England captain took to Twitter to refute claims made by Deepti Sharma, the bowler at the center of the controversy, who led India to victory in the final one-day international, that Charlie Dean was repeatedly supported too far. was warned about.

advertisement

Sharma appeared to rebut his captain Harmanpreet Kaur’s post-match remarks when she told reporters in Kolkata on Monday that India planned to run out non-striker Dean in a manner that was not acceptable to the cricketing world. divides very little.

- Advertisement -

“It was a plan because we had warned Charlie Dean (to leave the crease) over and over again,” said Sharma, an off-spinner who has a habit of stopping in his delivery stride without releasing the ball. ‘We did things according to the rules and guidelines.’

Those comments angered a camp in England, which had accepted a run-out, which was said to be within the rules, in 1947, in India’s Vinoo Mankad, the first bowler to dismiss a non-striker back up And decided to move on.

That all changed on Monday, with England adamant Dean was not warned, although an analysis by ESPN Cricinfo found that he left the crease early on 72 occasions during his innings of 47 before being dismissed for the 73rd time Was.

England captain Heather Knight has accused India of

England captain Heather Knight has accused India of “lying” about their controversial “Mankad”.

Deepti Sharma runs out Charlie Dean (left) at the non-striker's end in a controversial incident

Deepti Sharma runs out Charlie Dean (left) at the non-striker’s end in a controversial incident

“The game is over, Charlie was legitimately sacked and India were the deserving winners of the game and the series,” posted Knight, who was described as England’s first at Lord’s since winning the World Cup against India in 2017. The game was forced to miss. ,

‘But no warning was given. If they are comfortable with the decision to affect run-out India then they should not feel the need to justify it by lying about the warnings.’

It was an emotional statement from an England captain, usually the epitome of diplomacy and it was a game that would guarantee bad feelings over a game that was building up to a thrilling climax before Deepti’s intervention with England , still need 17 runs to win with the last pair. The crease will remain.

Sharma (centre) said that he had 'repeatedly warned' Dean - a claim questioned by Knight

Sharma (centre) said that he had ‘repeatedly warned’ Dean – a claim questioned by Knight

The matter could have easily been clarified by umpires Martin Saggers and Anna Harris and match referee Phil Whitice, but by all conjecture, they were asked to remain silent on Monday by the International Cricket Council for refusing to make any comment or statement. was asked to.

So matters will only get worse as cricket continues to wrestle with the rights and wrongs of a method of dismissal that is clearly far more than a normal part of the game.

sportsmail Columnist and former umpire David Lloyd yesterday called for an official warning for backing batsmen too far – there is nothing in the laws that compels a bowler to warn his opponent before being run out, Even if it has become tradition to do so before a flurry of recent events – and then if they continue to be violated they can be dismissed.

And it appears to be the best way for the game to settle their Mankad mess.

Dean burst into tears and was consoled on the field by teammate Freya Davis (right)

Dean burst into tears and was consoled on the field by teammate Freya Davis (right)

Dean eventually smiled again and was comforted again by head coach Lisa Keightley.

Dean eventually smiled again and was comforted again by head coach Lisa Keightley.

The action resulted in a stir around the field and as India’s celebration left Dean in tears, TV presenter Piers Morgan left angrily.

He said: ‘Absolutely pathetic way to ‘win’ a cricket match. The entire Indian team should be ashamed of themselves.

Several cricket stars have spoken on the matter, including England men’s bowler Stuart Broad, who tweeted: ‘I personally don’t want to win a match like this.’

His views were echoed by wicketkeeper Sam Billings, who posted: ‘There certainly isn’t someone who has played the game who thinks it’s acceptable. Not just cricket.

Billings then posted a still image of the controversial moment, captioned: ‘Not even looking at the other end in delivery.’

England wicketkeeper Sam Billings claimed it was not true and said it was 'not just cricket'.

England wicketkeeper Sam Billings claimed it was not true and said it was ‘not just cricket’.

His England teammates Jimmy Anderson and Alex Hales responded to Billings' social media post

His England teammates Jimmy Anderson and Alex Hales responded to Billings’ social media post

England’s all-time leading wicket-taker in Test cricket, James Anderson, responded to Billings’ first comment: ‘Spot on. There is no intention to throw the ball.

Alex Hales, who was recently recalled to the England squad after a three-year hiatus, said: ‘It shouldn’t be difficult for a non-striker to stay in his crease until the ball gets out of hand .’

When Sharma’s teammate Harmanpreet Kaur gave a post-match interview, she said: ‘It’s part of the game. We haven’t done anything new.

“It’s part of the ICC rules and it just shows your awareness. I will support my players and in the end victory is victory.

The images showed Dean in his crease, attempting to hold an advantage, until moments before the bails were withdrawn.

Following several controversial incidents, the rules were recently changed, allowing the bowler to be in the run-up to dismiss the non-striker before he could bowl the ball.

Credit: www.dailymail.co.uk /

- Advertisement -

Recent Articles

Related Stories