Instagram users can decide how much risqué content they want to see on Explore page with new ‘Sensitive Content Control’ feature


  • This feature determines how sensitive content appears in Explore, the section showing posts from users you don’t follow
  • Affected posts may be sexual or violent but do not violate Instagram Standards
  • Users over the age of 18 can keep the default ‘limit’ setting, ask for ‘limit further’ or ‘allow’ more sensitive posts
  • In 2017, Instagram began blurring posts that didn’t violate the rules, but were flagged as offensive by others.

Instagram has rolled out a new feature that allows users to control how naughty their feed is.

On Tuesday, the company unveiled its ‘Sensitive Content Control’ feature, which sets how risky content appears in Explore, the section showing posts from users you don’t follow.

Posts filtered from your feed may include sexually suggestive or violent images that don’t go so far as to break Instagram’s Community Guidelines.

Facebook-owned platform ‘We believe people should be able to shape Instagram into the experience they want.’ said in a statement.

It compared the new ‘Sensitive Content Control’ feature to the earlier update, which allows users to turn off comments on posts and restrict other Instagrammers from interacting with them.

scroll down for video

Instagram’s new Sensitive Content Control feature allows users to set how potentially offensive content appears in Explore, the section in which posts from users you don’t follow

Instagram already bans pornography, hate speech, graphically violent images, content that encourages self-harm or suicide, and posts that attempt to sell or trade firearms or drugs.

But sensitive content controls are more subtle—affecting content that doesn’t break the rules but doesn’t even follow Instagram recommendation guidelines—contains posts of a sexually suggestive nature; those who discuss self-harm, suicide, or eating disorders; that depicts violent acts, or that promotes tobacco and certain other regulated goods.

“We recognize that everyone has different preferences for what they want to see in Explore, and this control will give people more choice over what they see,” the company said.

‘You can think of sensitive content as posts that do not violate our rules, but could potentially offend some people – such as posts that may be sexually suggestive or violent.’

Users may limit or allow content that does not violate the Terms but also does not comply with Instagram's recommendation guidelines that include posts of a sexually suggestive nature;  Those who discuss self-harm, that depict violent acts, or who promote tobacco and other regulated goods

Users may limit or allow content that does not violate the Terms, but also does not comply with Instagram’s recommendation guidelines—including posts of a sexually suggestive nature; Those who discuss self-harm, that depict violent acts, or who promote tobacco and other regulated goods

To use the feature, users can go to their profile, tap the Settings menu in the top right corner, tap ‘Account’ and then tap ‘Sensitive Content Control’.

Once there, they can keep the filter at its default ‘Limit’ setting, change it to ‘Allow’ to see more sensitive content, or ‘Limit it further’ to impose even stricter restrictions can change into.

“We hope this gives you more options, another way to make Instagram better for you,” the company said.

Instagram clarified that the ‘Allow’ option is not available for users under the age of 18.

The popular image-sharing platform continues to walk a fine line between censoring content and topics users may find offensive.

In 2017, Instagram began blurring some questionable posts, even though they followed the company. Community Guidelines.

A vague filter with a ‘sensitive content’ warning was added on top of posts marked as offensive by other users.

In 2017, Instagram began blurring content that was tagged offensive by other users, even if it didn't completely violate community standards.  Users can still view the filtered photos by tapping on the acknowledgment

In 2017, Instagram began blurring content that was tagged offensive by other users, even if it didn’t completely violate community standards. Users can still view the filtered photos by tapping on the acknowledgment

‘This image contains sensitive material that some may find objectionable or disturbing,’ the warning reads,

Users can still view the image or video, but must first tap on an acknowledgment.

This only applies to posts that are not deemed offensive enough by the site to qualify for removal.

Users cannot opt ​​out of this feature and must tap acknowledgment on each obscure post.

Blurred view also appears on the grid and list modes of the Instagram app.

At the time, Instagram claimed that the feature would help prevent ‘surprising or unwanted experiences’.

.

Mail Us For  DMCA / Credit  Notice

Recent Articles

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

Related Stories