Khruangbin and Leon Bridges announce new joint EP, share music video for ‘B-Side’

- Advertisement -

Upcoming ‘Texas Moon’ project follows their 2020 joint EP ‘Texas Sun’

- Advertisement -

American trio Khruangbin and singer-songwriter Leon Bridges have announced their second collaborative EP, titled ‘Texas Moon’.

  • Read more: Khruangbin – ‘Mordchai’ review: Newfound candor from psychedelic music’s low-key superstars
- Advertisement -

The EP is scheduled for release on February 18, 2022 through Dead Oceans in partnership with Columbia Records and Night Time Stories Ltd. It serves as a continuation of Khrungbin and Leon Bridges’ 2020 EP, ‘Texas Sun’.

“Without happiness, there can be no real outlook on sadness,” Khruangbin said of ‘Texas Moon’ via a press release. “Without the sun, all this rain stops things from growing. How can there be the Sun without the Moon?


The EP’s announcement coincided with the release of its first single, the ‘B-side’, and a music video. The video, directed by Philip Andelman, sees Khrungbin and Bridges putting their unique spin on the spaghetti western genre, facing off against each other before finally coming together to perform as a unit.

Watch the music video for the ‘B-side’ below.

‘Texas Moon’ will also feature three other tracks – ‘Chocolate Hills’, ‘Father Father’, ‘Mariella’ and ‘Doris’. According to the press release, ‘Doris’ tells the story of Bridges’ grandmother’s passing and her journey to various regions.

“It’s like a short story,” Khruangbin’s Laura Lee said of Texas Moon. “And it leaves room for these stories to continue together. It’s not Khruangbin, it’s not Leon, it’s this world we built together.”

Khruangbin and Leon Bridges teamed up for the first time to release “Texas Sun” in February last year. Four months later, Khruangbin released his third studio album, Mordechai. The record received a great five-star review from Granthshala, praising the band as “expanding their horizons while rooting their latest project in a sound they’ve made their own”.

  • Read more: Leon Bridges – ‘Gold-diggers sound’ review: R&B traveler reimagines the blues

In July this year, Leon Bridges released his third studio album, ‘Gold-Digger’s Sound’. The album received a four-star review from Granthshala and was praised for “embracing a new sound and a new direction” as well as “teasing a taste of things to come”.

Khruangbin’s tour of Europe and the UK is scheduled for April 2022, while Leon Bridges’ own tour of Europe and the UK is scheduled for June and July 2022.

The tracklist for Khruangbin and Leon Bridges’ “Texas Moon” is:

1. ‘Doris’
2. ‘B-side’
3. ‘Chocolate Hills’
4. ‘Father Father’
5. ‘Marila’

- Advertisement -
Mail Us For  DMCA / Credit  Notice

Recent Articles

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

Related Stories