Ottawa – The Federal Liberals say they have secured another seat in Quebec after a judicial recalculation.

- Advertisement -

They say the incumbent Brenda Shanahan will return to parliament when recounts declared her the winner by only 12 votes over her bloc Québécois rival in Chateauguay-Lacole.

This reverses the preliminary results of the September 20 election, in which Shanahan lost to Patrick O’Hara of the block by 286 votes.


The recount brings the total number of seats won by Justin Trudeau’s Liberals to 160, although the winner in one of them – Kevin Vuong in Toronto’s Spadina-Fort York – remains an independent MP after the party failed to disclose. Will be sitting A previous sexual assault charge that was eventually dropped.

This raises the Liberal seat tally in Quebec to 35, as won by the party in 2019; The block emerges with 32 seats, which is also unchanged from 2019.

- Advertisement -

The election returned Trudeau’s Liberals with a minority government, 10 seats short of the 170 needed for a majority.

This report by The Canadian Press was first published on October 6, 2021.