Listen to Mitski’s hypnotic new single ‘Heat Lightning’

- Advertisement -

It is an omen for insomnia and “the blink of an eye in the sky”.

- Advertisement -

Mitsky has shared a new single called ‘Heat Lightning’ – listen below.

  • Read more: Mitsky – ‘Be the Cowboy’ review
- Advertisement -

The song will appear on the American singer-songwriter’s sixth album Laurel Hale, which is due out February 4 via Dead Ocean.

“I needed songs that could help me forgive others and myself… I needed to make this space mostly for myself where I was sitting in that gray area,” Mitsky wrote in ‘Heat Lightning. ‘, which is a cut started on the piano.


However, the single eventually turned into a hypnotic R&B-influenced number that is an ode to insomnia and “the sleepy wink of the sky”.

,And there’s nothing I can do / Can’t change much / Can I give it to you / Will it be okay I surrender to you,” Mitsky sings on ‘Heat Lightning.

Meanwhile, Mitski’s previous single ‘The Only Heartbreaker’ appears at number 32. GranthshalaThe ’50 Best Songs of 2021′ run-down. It followed October’s “Working for the Knife,” the artist’s first major release since the 2018 album “Be the Cowboy.”

Opening up about ‘Laurel Hale’, which was recorded with longtime producer Patrick Hyland during the COVID-enforced isolation, Mitsky explained how its tracks “gradually took on new forms and meanings, such as that flower from seed”.

The project then evolved into a “more uptempo and dance-y” collection. “I needed to make something that was also an encouraging thing”, Mitxi said.


Mitsky will perform ‘Laurel Hell’ during the UK and European headline tour next April/May – see the full schedule here.

- Advertisement -
Mail Us For  DMCA / Credit  Notice

Recent Articles

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

Related Stories