- Advertisement -

OSLO: Philippine journalist Maria Russa and Russia’s Dmitry Muratov were awarded the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize on Friday.

He was referring to his fight for freedom of expression.


The winners were announced on Friday by Norwegian Nobel Committee chairman Berit Rees-Andersen.

“Independent, independent and fact-based journalism serves to protect against abuse of power, lies and war propaganda,” Rees-Anderson said.

- Advertisement -

“Without freedom of expression and freedom of the press, it would be difficult to successfully promote brotherhood among nations, to promote disarmament and a better world order to succeed in our times.”

Nobel Peace Prize winner says Olympics deserves prize

Ressa co-founded Rapper, a news website in 2012 that “has a significant focus on the controversial, murderous anti-drug campaign of the (President Rodrigo) Duterte regime,” the Nobel committee said.

She and the rapper have also “documented how social media is being used to spread fake news, harass opponents, and manipulate public discourse.”

Muratov was one of the founders of the independent Russian newspaper Novaya Gazeta in 1993.

“The Novaya Gazeta is the most independent newspaper in Russia today, with a fundamentally critical approach to power,” the Nobel committee said.

It added, “The newspaper’s fact-based journalism and professional integrity have made it an important source of information on blasphemous aspects of Russian society, which are rarely mentioned by other media.”

Kremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov congratulated Muratov on winning the award and hailed him as a “talented and brave” man.

“We can congratulate Dmitry Muratov – he has consistently acted according to his ideals, he has followed his ideals, he is talented and brave. This is a high assessment and we congratulate him,” Peskov said of the award. After said in a conference with reporters. Was declared.

The coveted prize is accompanied by a gold medal and 10 million Swedish kronor (over $1.14 million). The prize money comes from a will left by the prize’s creator, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, who died in 1895.

The Nobel Committee on Monday awarded the Prize in Physiology or Medicine to Americans David Julius and Ardem Patpoutian for their discoveries. How the human body perceives temperature and touch.

Who was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics on Tuesday? Three scientists whose work found order in order to appear chaoticHelping to explain and predict the complex forces of nature, including expanding our understanding of climate change.

Benjamin List and David WC Macmillan were named as the winners of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry on Wednesday An easy and environmentally clean way to manufacture molecules Which can be used to make compounds including drugs and pesticides.

Nobel Prize for Literature was awarded on Thursday UK-based Tanzanian writer Abdulrajak Gurnah, who was recognized for “non-compromising and compassionate penetration of the effects of colonialism and the fate of the refugee”.

The coming Monday is the prize for outstanding work in field economics.