Nobel Prize in physics awarded to scientists whose work warned the world of climate change

- Advertisement -

According to a news release from the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, 90-year-old Manabe and 89-year-old Hasselmann were jointly honored for “physical modeling of Earth’s climate, quantifying variability and predicting global warming”. Was.

- Advertisement -

Both men did pioneering work in the 1960s and 1970s in what seemed an early alarm over man-made climate change.

The Italian physicist Paris, 73, claimed the other half of the prize for “discovering the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales”.


The trio were announced as winners at a news conference in Stockholm, Sweden on Tuesday.

Manabe’s work in the 1960s demonstrated how increased levels of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere increased Earth’s temperature. In doing so, they “laid the foundation for the development of current climate models,” the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said in a statement.

- Advertisement -

A decade later, Hasselman created “a model that ties weather and climate together.”

Nobel committee chairman Thor-Hans Hansen said: “It’s a physics prize. And what we’re saying is that the modeling of climate is solidly based on physical theory.”

Paris’ discoveries, meanwhile, “make it possible to understand and describe many different and apparently completely random complex materials and phenomena.” This is true not only for physics but also for other fields such as mathematics, biology, neuroscience and machine learning, the academy said.

The committee’s decision to recognize pioneering work on climate change comes weeks ahead of world leaders meeting at COP26, an important summit in the United Kingdom.

Paris, a professor at Sapienza University in Rome, acknowledged the timeliness of the award, speaking to reporters after the announcement. He added that it is “urgent that we take a very strong position, and we move at a very rapid pace,” adding: “It is clear that for generations to come, we have to act very fast right now. “

Michael Moloney, CEO of the American Institute of Physics, told Granthshala: “I can’t say that the Nobel Prize committee had a political message, but what it clearly shows is that [the] Earth system science model on which we understand trajectories and predictions for our planet’s climate [are] Sound, solid science.”

Soukuro Manabe, Klaus Haselmann and Giorgio Perisic

“Together [the new laureates] has laid the foundation for our knowledge of Earth’s climate and how humanity affects it, as well as revolutionized the theory of disordered material and random processes,” said a senior citation analyst at the research company Clarivets Institute for Scientific Information. David Pendlebury said.

first deep count

Manabe, a senior meteorologist at Princeton University’s Program in Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences, harnessed the computing power of early computers and applied it to the climate. In the late 1960s, his climate circulation model was on a computer that occupied an entire room and only There was half a megabyte of memory. After hundreds of hours of testing, the model showed that carbon dioxide had a clear effect – when carbon dioxide levels doubled, global temperatures rose by more than 2 degrees Celsius.

“He was the first scientist to make completely reliable calculations,” said Gunnar Ingelmann, secretary of the Nobel Physics Committee. Today, nearly every climate model relies on unprecedented research conducted by Manabe, he said.

In 1980, Professor Hasselmann, from the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology in Hamburg, Germany, was able to answer the question of why climate models can be reliable even when the weather is variable and chaotic. In addition, he developed methods to identify the impact of mankind on global temperature.

Paris’ work was more esoteric but no less important, Moloney said. He was honored for his work investigating the changing landscape of physical states, including even simple things like glass.

“Paris’s work really helped us understand that at that fundamental molecular level … the properties of systems that we observe around us,” Moloney said.

What ties the three prize winners’ work, he said, is that it describes the characteristics of the smallest and fundamental components of the natural world to explain large and complex phenomena.

The winners will receive 10 million Swedish kronor ($1.1 million), of which one half will go to Manabe and Hasselmann jointly and the other half to Paris.

David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian were awarded the Nobel Prize in Medicine on Monday for discovering the receptors for temperature and touch.


Credit :

- Advertisement -
Mail Us For  DMCA / Credit  Notice

Recent Articles

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

Related Stories