Ruthless Eddie Jones wields the axe as he DROPS senior stars Billy Vunipola, Mako Vunipola, Jamie George AND George Ford from his first England squad of the season

- Advertisement -

  • Eddie Jones dropped several senior stars from his England squad on Tuesday
  • England coach picks his team of players for next week’s two-day camp
  • Jones seizes opportunity to deliver a message by leaving big-name stars
  • Billy Vunipola, Mako Vunipola, Jamie George and George Ford were all fired.

- Advertisement -

Eddie Jones Scored a shot across the bow at several senior figures, dropping Billy Vunipola, Mako Vunipola, Jamie George and George Ford from their first England team of the season.

While 45 men were selected for the purposes of gathering together for the two-day camp the following week, Jones dropped four of his most selected players, and the two Lions, Elliot Daly, were also injured.


Exciting Lions tour talent Marcus Smith and Sam Simmonds – last picked in 2018 – are back with Manu Tuilagi.

- Advertisement -

Eddie Jones named his first England team of the season on Tuesday morning

Billy Vunipola was one of several senior stars left out of the team

His brother Mako was not even named by Jonso.

Billy Vunipola (left) and Mako Vunipola (right) were notable omissions from the 45-man squad

Uncapped Gabriel Ogre, The Wasps hooker, Sam Riley, a 20-year-old Harlequin hooker, champion’s flanker Jack Kenningham, cell number 9 Rafi Quirke, Northampton wing Ollie Slythholm, sail prop Bevan Rode, 31-year-old Gloucester center Mark Atkinson and queens wing Louis Lynagh Everyone is inside.

Lynagh is a surprise call-up. He qualifies for both Australia – thanks to father Michael – and Italy, born there and with an Italian mother – so the 20-year-old needs to be capped soon for fear of losing England to other countries.

Joe Marler, who won his last cap in December 2020, also returned to England.

Returning Lions Luke Cowan-Dickie, Tom Curry, Johnny Hill, Maro Etoje, Courtney Lodge, Owen Farrell, Kyle Sinkler and Anthony Watson at Teddington Camp as Summer Cap Adam Redwan, Freddie Steward, Harry Randall, Trevor Davison, Callum Next Week Will be included. Chickie and Jamie Blamire were also involved.

George Ford was also fired and will not attend next week's two-day training camp

George Ford was also fired and will not attend next week’s two-day training camp

Jones said: ‘This is an exciting team made up of experienced players and young people who have done well over the summer and have earned their place again.

‘We have let out some experienced players, but we are really clear that the door is not closed for them, and we want to see them work hard to get back in contention.

‘We now have five campaigns until the 2023 World Cup, so each one counts, and this is your chance to impress the 45 new coaching staff.’

England’s 45-man full squad


Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons, 2 caps) Callum Chick (Newcastle Falcons, 2 caps) Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 31 caps) Tom Curry (Sail Sharks, 33 caps) Trevor Davison (Newcastle Falcons, 1 cap) Alex Dombrandt ( Harlequin, 1 cap) Charlie Ewells (Bath Rugby, 23 caps) Ellis Ganz (Leicester Tigers, 30 caps) Joe Hayes (Leicester Tigers, 2 caps) Johnny Hill (Exeter Chiefs, 9 caps) Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors, 2 caps) Maro Etoje (Saracens, 48 ​​caps) Jack Kenningham (Harlequins, uncapd) Courtney Laws (Northampton Saints, 87 caps) Lewis Ludlum (Northampton Saints, 10 caps) Lewis Ludlow (Gloucester Rugby, 2 caps) Joe Marler (Harlequins, 72 caps) George Martin (Leicester Tigers, 1 cap) Beno Obano (Bath Rugby, 3 caps) Gabriel Ogre (Wasps, uncapped) Sam Riley (Harlequin, uncapped) Bevan Rode (Sail Sharks, uncapped) Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, 7 caps) Kyle Sinkler (Bristol Bears, 44 caps) Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 12 caps) Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 24 caps)

the back

Mark Atkinson (Gloucester Rugby, uncapped) Owen Farrell (Saracens, 93 caps) George Furbank (Northampton Saints, 4 caps) Ollie Lawrence (Worcester Warriors, 7 caps) Louis Lynagh (Harlequin, uncapped) Max Malins (Saracens, 8 caps) Joe Merchant (Harlequin, 6 caps) Johnny May (Gloucester Rugby, 66 caps) Rafi Quirke (Sail Sharks, uncapd) Adam Radwan (Newcastle Falcons, 1 cap) Harry Randall (Bristol Bears, 2 caps) Dan Robson (Wasps, 14 caps) Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 40 caps) Ollie Slytheholm (Northampton Saints, uncapped) Marcus Smith (Harlequin, 2 caps) Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, 2 caps) Manu Tuilagi (Sail Sharks, 43 caps) Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 51) caps) Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 109 caps)



- Advertisement -
Mail Us For  DMCA / Credit  Notice

Recent Articles

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

Related Stories