These are the 9 House Republicans who voted to hold Steve Bannon in contempt of Congress

- Advertisement -

While Democrats did not require a GOP vote to send a criminal contempt charge to the Justice Department, these Republicans voted in favor of doing so:
  • Representative Liz Cheney of Wyoming (January 6 committee member)
  • Pennsylvania Representative Brian Fitzpatrick
  • Ohio Representative Anthony Gonzalez
  • Washington Representative Jaime Herrera Beutler
  • New York Representative John Katko
  • Illinois Representative Adam Kizinger (January 6th committee member)
  • South Carolina Representative Nancy Mays
  • Michigan Representative Peter Meijer
  • Michigan Representative Fred Upton
Now that the referral has passed the House, it is the head of the Justice Department who will ultimately decide whether to bring charges that could result in jail time or fines.

Any person found liable for contempt of Congress is guilty of an offense that may result in fines and imprisonment of one to 12 months. But the process is rarely implemented and rarely jail time.

- Advertisement -

As serious as a criminal contempt referral sounds, the House’s choice to use the Justice Department may be more a warning than a solution. It can take years for a person to be held in criminal contempt through a prosecution, and historical criminal contempt cases have been derailed by appeals and acquittals.

This is a breaking story and will be updated.



Credit :

- Advertisement -
Mail Us For  DMCA / Credit  Notice

Recent Articles

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

Related Stories