Tom Petty’s ‘She’s The One’ reimagined as ‘Angel Dream’ for 25th anniversary

Fans can get a limited-edition cobalt blue vinyl edition for Record Store Day this Saturday

A new version of Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers’ 1996 album She’s the One has been announced to celebrate the 25th anniversary.

  • Read more: Tom Petty – ‘Wildflower and All the Rest’ review: 10 ‘new’ songs honoring the wishes of an all-time great

Titled ‘Angel Dream’, the updated album is a remixed, remastered and reimagined version of the group’s “Songs and Music from the Motion Picture”. That is one‘, is set for release on July 2.

It will be re-released on limited-edition cobalt blue vinyl for Record Store Day this Saturday (June 12), ahead of its official release date. You can find out more about RSD releases here Here.


The album’s new title is an allusion to its opening track ‘Angel Dream No. 2’, which you can listen to below.

“‘She’s the One’ was originally a great way to include some songs that didn’t make it to Wildflowers, but it has its own point, its own charm, and it’s now in a revamped form. For a little treat,” heartbreaker Benmont Tench said of ‘Angel Dream’ in an interview on SiriusXM’s Tom Petty Radio earlier today (June 10).

“At the time in the studio, it was fun working as a band improvising scoring cues for the film, rather than pre-set click tracks and a written score. And instead of just learning covers for live shows, it was fun for others to record. It was interesting to try to cut the covers of the songs of

“We’ve got a nice live version of Beck’s song and I’ve always loved Lucinda’s song ‘Change the Locks,’ so I’m so glad to be cutting it with my band. Oh, and ‘Angel Dream’ on this album Which is one of the cutest songs Tom has ever written.”

Petty’s long-term engineer and co-producer Ryan Yulett remixed the audio for the re-release and worked with the late musician on the mix before he passed away. The song selection was designed to serve as a Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers album rather than a film soundtrack.


Four unreleased tracks have been added: ‘One of Life’s Little Mysteries’, written by Petty; ‘Thirteen Days’, a JJ Kale cover; ‘105 degrees’, another small origin; and ‘French Disconnection’, an instrument similar to the original album. An expanded version of ‘Supernatural Radio’ has also been included.

Tom Petty. credit: Getty Images

Petty’s widow Dana Petty said of the album: “These songs are extremely special. I’m grateful this record is getting the recognition it deserves. The remix Ryan Yulett sounded amazing, and the unreleased Gems a lovely bonus. Anaquim, Adria and I spent a lot of time finding artwork that reflected the mood of the album. I think we finally achieved that with Aaliyah Penner’s work. It’s as surreal and beautiful as life at the time.”

‘Angel Dream (song and music from the motion picture) That is one)’ is available for pre-order Here. You can see the track list below.

Side 1:
‘Angel Dream (No. 2)’
‘Grown up fast’
‘change locks’
‘Void from Outer Space’

Side 2:
‘One of life’s little mysteries’
“Walls (No. 3)”
‘Thirteen Days’
‘105 degrees’
‘climb that hill’
“Supernatural Radio” (Extended Edition)
‘French disconnection’

The original 1996 album included several songs that were omitted from the final “Wildflower” tracklist, but were featured in the previous year’s critically acclaimed “Wildflower and All the Rest” collection.

In a four star review, GranthshalaLeonie Cooper said of ‘Wildflower and All the Rest’: “When listening to the sheer quality of the 10 tracks that have now found their rightful place as an official part of the Wildflower family, it’s hard to see That’s how any label bigwig can ask one of their biggest artists not to bother with them.

“From the outset, it’s clear that this isn’t some posthumous digging in a bucket of old cuts in an attempt to extort some money from devoted fans, but rather a cunning and gratifying fulfillment of one of Petty’s long-standing desires. “Wildflowers and All the Rest” feels less like grave-robbing and more like bringing one of the greats of all time back to life.

Meanwhile, Record Store Day will return for two dates this summer (June 11 and July 17) and hundreds of vinyl, CD and cassette releases will be sold exclusively through independent record shops.

Along with Tom Petty, Amy Winehouse, Wolf Alice, Rage Against the Machine, Saint Vincent, Elastica, Lady Gaga, The Cure, The Rolling Stones and AC/DC are among the artists with special releases for RSD. You can see the full list of releases here.

Mail Us For  DMCA / Credit  Notice

Recent Articles

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

Related Stories