WASHINGTON – Four US senators on Friday asked US President Joe Biden to lift restrictions that have barred Canadians from traveling across the North American border since March 2020.

- Advertisement -

Democratic Senators Gene Shaheen and Maggie Hassan of New Hampshire, John Tester of Montana and Independent Angus King of Maine ask Biden to travel to the United States before October to allow Canadians to be vaccinated against COVID-19 said. Senators from the border state said in a letter that the restrictions have caused “economic and emotional stress in our communities.”

The senators said: “While your administration will feel comfortable lifting border restrictions based on public health data, a plan with some indication will provide clarity to businesses and families along the northern border.”


He also noted that Canadians can fly to the United States. “We struggle to understand the public health rationale for unequal treatment in travel modes,” the senators wrote.

The White House did not immediately comment on Friday, but Jeff Ziants, the White House’s coronavirus response coordinator, said Wednesday that given the delta version of the coronavirus, “we will maintain the current travel restrictions at this point.”

- Advertisement -

US officials and travel industry executives say the White House is ready to renew restrictions before the latest extension ends on September 21.

In August, the United States again extended restrictions closing its land borders with Canada and Mexico to non-essential travel such as tourism, despite Ottawa’s decision to open its border to vaccinated Americans.

Canada began allowing fully vaccinated US visitors on August 9 for non-essential travel.

The United States continues to extend extraordinary sanctions on Canada and Mexico on a monthly basis since March 2020, when they were imposed to address the spread of COVID-19.

US land border restrictions do not prevent US citizens from returning home.

The United States separately prohibits most non-US citizens who have been in the United Kingdom within the past 14 days without border controls in the 26 Schengen countries of Europe, Ireland, China, India, South Africa, Iran and Brazil. .