Who is – and who is not – attending Queen Elizabeth II’s funeral?

- Advertisement -

World leaders and royals gathered in London for Queen Elizabeth’s funeral.

World leaders arrive in London to pay their last respects to Queen Elizabeth II.

- Advertisement -

The Queen, who died on 8 September at the age of 96, was given a state funeral – the first in the United Kingdom since 1965, following the death of wartime Prime Minister Sir Winston Churchill.

The 2,000-strong congregation included world leaders, members of the Royal Family, representatives of charities and people who made “extraordinary contributions” to the fight against the COVID-19 pandemic.

What time is the queen’s funeral?


The main service began shortly before 11am (10:00 GMT) at Westminster Abbey in central London, followed by one at Windsor at 4pm (15:00 GMT) and another at 7:30pm (18:30 GMT). Private service started.

The infographics and map below highlight some of the attendees and those not invited:

royal attendant

- Advertisement -

  • King Philip and Queen Mathilde of Belgium
  • King of Bhutan Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck
  • Sultan of Brunei Hassanal Bolkiah
  • Queen Margaret II of Denmark, Crown Prince Frederik and Crown Princess Mary
  • Emperor Naruhito and Empress Masako of Japan
  • King Abdullah and Queen Rania of Jordan
  • Sheikh Meshal Al-Ahmad Al-Sabah, Crown Prince of Kuwait
  • King Letsi III of Lesotho
  • Hereditary Prince Alois of Liechtenstein
  • Grand Duke Henry of Luxembourg
  • Malaysia’s Sultan Abdullah of Pahangi
  • Prince Albert II of Monaco
  • Moroccan Crown Prince Moulay Hassan
  • King Willem-Alexander and Queen Maxima of the Netherlands
  • King Harald V of Norway and Queen Sonja
  • Sultan of Oman Haitham bin Tariq al-Sayed
  • Emir of Qatar Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani
  • Saudi Arabia’s Prince Turki bin Mohammed Al Saud
  • King Felipe VI and Queen Letizia of Spain
  • Juan Carlos, former King of Spain and former Queen Sofia
  • King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden and Queen Silvia
  • King Taupo VI of Tonga
  • Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the United Arab Emirates and Ruler of Abu Dhabi
  • Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President, Prime Minister, and Minister of Defense of the United Arab Emirates and Ruler of Dubai

world leader


Below is a list of some of the world leaders who attended the funeral. Click on the map to read more.

Of America

  • Barbados President Sandra Mason
  • The Governor-General of Belize, Floyla Tzalam
  • Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro
  • Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau
  • Jamaican Prime Minister Andrew Holness
  • Susan Dougan, Governor-General of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago President Paula-May Weeks
  • United States President and First Lady Joe and Jill Biden


  • Austrian President Alexander Van der Belen
  • Cyprus President Nikos Anastasiades
  • European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen
  • European Council President Charles Michel
  • Finnish President Saulie Ninisto
  • French President Emmanuel Macron
  • German President Frank-Walter Steinmeier
  • Greece’s President Katerina Sakleropoulou
  • Hungarian President Caitlin Novak
  • Irish President Michael D. Higgins
  • The Taoiseach (Prime Minister) Michael Martin of Ireland
  • Italian President Sergio Mattarella
  • Latvia’s President Egils Levits
  • President of Lithuania Gitanas Nauseda
  • Malta’s President George Vela
  • Klaus Iohannes, President of Romania
  • NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg
  • Polish President Andrzej Duda
  • Portugal’s President Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa
  • Archbishop Paul Richard Gallagher, Vatican Foreign Minister

Middle East

  • Egyptian Prime Minister Mustafa Madbouli
  • Israel’s President Isaac Herzog
  • Palestinian Prime Minister Mohamed Shtayyeh
  • Saudi Arabia’s Minister of State Prince Turki bin Mohammed Al Saud. Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman (MBS) is no longer expected to attend the Queen’s funeral.


  • President of the National Assembly Christophe Moboso Nkodia, Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Gabon’s President Ali Bongo
  • Ghana’s President Nana Akufo-Addo
  • Kenyan President William Ruto
  • Nigeria’s Vice President Yemi Osinbajo
  • Rwanda’s President Paul Kagame
  • Senegalese President Mackie Sall
  • South African President Cyril Ramaphosa
  • Sudan’s military leader, General Abdel Fattah al-Burhan


  • Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina
  • President of India Draupadi Murmu
  • Pakistan Prime Minister Shahbaz Sharif
  • Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe

Asia Pacific

  • Australian Prime Minister Anthony Albanese
  • Chinese Vice President Wang Qishan
  • Cook Islands Prime Minister Mark Brown
  • Physique’s Prime Minister Frank Bainimarama
  • New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern
  • Papua New Guinea Prime Minister James Marape
  • Head of State Tuimlili’Fano Valeto’a Sualouwi II, Samoa
  • Singapore President Halimah Jacob
  • South Korean President Yoon Suk-yol
  • Tuvalu’s Prime Minister Kausia Natano
  • David Vunagi, Governor-General of the Solomon Islands

Countries not invited

Britain invited a representative at the Heads of State or an ambassadorial level from any country with which it has full diplomatic relations.

The nations not invited include Syria and Venezuela because London does not have normal diplomatic relations. Britain also did not invite representatives from Russia, Belarus or Myanmar after imposing economic sanctions on those countries.

Credit: www.aljazeera.com /

- Advertisement -

Recent Articles

Related Stories